The journey of learning together

Self Directed Learning

‘The most important attitude that can be formed’, wrote John Dewey ‘is that of the desire to go on learning’ (Smith, 1996). I think this is important in self-directed learning. I feel that it is important to scaffold students and facilitate them in developing the tools required to become self-directed learners. As part of your classroom children should be begin developing a desire to be life long learners. In today’s society I feel that it is vital that we all commit to continually learning in whatever way we can.  To be able to accomplish this children need to be self-motivated and capable of engaging in learning both with others and independently.

 

A taxonomy can provide a process and stages which can benefit the way we think and our development in the thinking process.

Here is my taxonomy

Identification – what do I need to improve on

Goal setting – what am I looking to achieve

Question – what steps can I take to assist my development

Action – put into place the steps to improve

Reflection – have I achieved my goals, what could I have done better, what can I still improve on

 

Smith, M., K. (1996). Retrieved October 16, 2013 from infed.org: http://infed.org/mobi/self-direction-in-learning/

Leave a comment